Shopping Day!

After reading an article that my co-worker showed me, http://unitedwayofeastcentraliowa.org/what-its-like-to-eat-with-4-00-a-day/ I decided to take on the challenge for a special story here at Channel 13.  I couldn’t believe that the average Iowan only gets $4 a day for food, and after doing some research I found a lot of people say it’s possible.  My concerns going into this “challenge” will be if I am able to eat three balanced meals a day for $4 bucks! 

Although, $4 a day is an average, according to the Iowa Department of Human Services, the MOST a single individual can receive on Food Assistance if they make little to no income is $200 a week.  That only averages a little over $6.50 a day.  I figured I’d take the average of about $4 and take on the challenge.  Today, I’m meeting with a professor from Iowa State University who has some tips and will head to the grocery store with me.

I’ll be blogging every day and sharing what I make and how much I spend!  Wish me luck!

 

2 responses

    • Christoph-
      I will get you the link when it posts, it is airing as part of a special report on May 7th! Thanks for the interest.

Leave a comment